Getting Data In

Tutorial data upload error

becksyboy
Communicator

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Splunk and currently undergoing some training. Within my home lab I have a Splunk instance installed and am trying to upload the tutorial data. When i select the .zip file it says "uploading file" and is at 100%. After 10 mins i get an upload Error stating there was a read timeout?

Any ideas why i can't upload the .zip file?

thanks

splunky14

The only way I solved this is to create a VM. In that VM i created a separate partition and installed Splunk to that (not to C:) doing this I had no upload errors, didn't have to change any specs with server settings, and had no disk space errors.

0 Karma

splunky14

I too have the same issue. I tried all of the suggestions, but cannot get the tutorial data to load. I always receive the same Upload failed with Error: Read Timeout

0 Karma

louisba

Re-install Splunk and try to upload the zip file again. Your free license may have expired.

0 Karma

lstewart_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

If the system hangs when you try to upload the file, try the following.

1. DO NOT unzip the file.
  2. Stop the upload.
  3. Go to Settings > Server settings > General settings.
  4. In the Index settings section, change the value of the parameter Pause indexing if free disk space (in MB) falls below. Change the value to approx. 200 MB lower than the current value. For example, if the setting is 5000, change it to 4800.
  5. Try the upload again.

teanae94577
Explorer

@istewart[splunk] Could you explain why that worked? I want to understand it better.

0 Karma

bandit
Motivator

Splunk defaults to requiring 5GB or 5000MB of free disk space or it will stop functioning properly. Possibly you don't have much disk space free on the file system where Splunk is installed? If this is a testing/sandbox system, I would see no problem with setting the value as low as 100MB free.

0 Karma

louisba