Getting Data In

Tracking exchange white space values over time (parsing values in message from event 1221)

jayrodef
Explorer

Hello, I'm new to Splunk and I'm using it to track several things that are looking really good. One thing I was curious to get working is a search to track the white white space by datastore on our exchange server. Here's an example of one of the events:

20110215060000.000000 Category=6 CategoryString=General ComputerName=EXSVR01 EventCode=1221 EventIdentifier=1074136261 EventType=3 Logfile=Application RecordNumber=2444633 SourceName=MSExchangeIS Mailbox Store TimeGenerated=20110215060000.000000-300 TimeWritten=20110215060000.000000-300 Type=Information User=NULL wmi_type=WinEventLog:Application Message=The database "NWRK\MB1" has 475 megabytes of free space after online defragmentation has terminated.

For more information, click http://www.microsoft.com/contentredirect.asp.

So in the Message area, I'd like to extract the database (NWRK\MB1) and the 475 value for megabytes. Sometimes I get multiple events for the same database in one day, so I'd need to ensure the values are distinct per database and track it over time. This is the search I had so far, and it tells me the total across all databases for the day, however it doesn't filter out the duplicate entries:

sourcetype="WMI:WinEventLog:Application" EventCode="1221" host="EXSVR01" | rex "has (?<mbs>\d+) megabytes of free" | timechart per_day(mbs)

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, thanks so much!

Regards, Jared

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

David
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

What I gather you're looking to do is track your free exchange database space over time, per database. What I do for this report is run the following search:

SearchCriteria | rex field=_raw "The database \"(?<EXDB>.*?)\" has (?<FreeMB>\d*) megabytes of free" 
               | timechart last(FreeMB) by EXDB