Getting Data In

Timestamps not recognised correctly

SRIVATSAN_IYER
Explorer

I am quite new to Splunk. I'd be really grateful if you could point me towards the fix of the problem.

Environment : I have a splunk forwarder set up on another machine that forwards the logs in realtime to a central splunk server.

Below are the configurations ( on the forwarder machine ) and an example log file structure

Log File Structure Example

2013-10-07:04:00:26,x.y.z.w| x.y.z.w| a.b.c.d,11977EA89F5CC5,1381118419818,1381118426978,62B55DF2C81A,No Facility,SUCCESS,Transaction completed successfully.
2013-10-07:11:43:23,x.y.z.w| x.y.z.w| a.b.c.d,1209A270E6F5BF,1381146195657,1381146203190,62B55DF2C81A,No Facility,SUCCESS,Transaction completed successfully.
2013-10-07:13:27:12,x.y.z.w| x.y.z.w| a.b.c.d,EC3F8D2FFE67,1381152428564,1381152432796,62B55DF2C81A,No Facility,SUCCESS,Transaction completed successfully.

splunkforwarder/etc/system/local/inputs.conf

[default]
host = ip-x-y-z-w

[monitor:///home/jboss/jboss-as-7.1.1.Final/standalone/log/xyzlog/transactions.log]
sourcetype = XYZ_TRANSACTIONS

splunkforwarder/etc/system/local/props.conf

[XYZ_TRANSACTIONS]
SHOULD_LINEMERGE = False
MAX_TIMESTAMP_LOOKAHEAD=150
NO_BINARY_CHECK=1
#TIME_FORMAT=%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S        # I tried both with and w/o ":" between the date and time part; doesn't work.
TRANSFORMS-Transaction_Timestamp=Transaction_Timestamp

splunkforwarder/etc/system/local/props.conf

[Transaction_Timestamp]
DEST_KEY = _time
REGEX = (\d{4}-\d{2}-\d{2}):(\d{2}:\d{2}:\d{2})

Problem

• Splunk parses the timestamp string 2013-10-07:14:06:30 as 10/7/13 7:14:06.300 AM.

What I tried:

• Initially, there was no sourcetype at all. I used to build dashboard (forms) around queries which used to start like "source=....". (This was where the problem started: I found out that Splunk was parsing the time wrongly)