Getting Data In

Splunk installations in two untrusted Windows domains

des_esse_err
Explorer

Hello,
I'm rather new to Splunk, so I haven't yet covered all the documented aspects of it, and have not found anything yet on this subject.
In other classical monitoring setups (such as NetIQ's Security Manager or MS SCOM), it is possible to install agents in other Windows domains which are not trusted by the domain where the solution's servers are running. Those agents are often called "unmanaged" agents, and because of this specific context, some functionality is lost (such as updating the agent software, because of credential problems). But in general, as long as the communication ports between the agent and the servers are opened, the agent is able to perform its job, and send its data back to the servers in the other domain.
So, I'm wondering how this type of context is tackled with Splunk. I guess that universal forwarders can be deployed (either through regular software distribution solution, or "manually") in the untrusted domain(s) with appropriate server information so that they can "link" back to those), running with their own domain specific service account, as long as their communication ports are left open between the two domains.
But then, what kind of side effects can we expect ? I'm thinking of things like:
- for the deployement monitor app
- for keeping the agent software up to date
- for specific apps, such as the Windows app or the Enterprise Security app (which I have not yet become familiar with)
- Anything else which might come into play

So, has anyone faced this type of setup ?
Where can I find information regarding different aspects of such a setup ?

Many thanks in advance.
For having worked with other SIEM solutions, this is an absolutely great piece of software, kind of... magical!

Have a nice day,

David

0 Karma
1 Solution

treinke
Builder