Getting Data In

Sourcetype Aliases

mgherman
Explorer

According to the documentation for Splunk version 3.x there is the ability to alias a sourcetype, however it does not appear to exist under version 4.x.

I find myself in the position where I have many applications all logging via log4j and would like to be able to filter my searches on application type.

I was hoping to be able to setup the forwarders via the CLI, adding the monitor statements with an explicit -sourcetype.

The only other option I can see is to setup TAGs on each of the source statements based on filename (Can tags be managed automatically for certain sources, perhaps based on a regex?)

Any suggestions or clarifications would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

mgh

P.S. In case it was not immediately obvious, yes I am very new to splunk.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

gkanapathy
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

I don't think this is what you want to do, though the specific answer to how to alias a sourcetype is given later. It seems to me that you simply want to specify a sourcetype for a set of input files. Normally, you can simply specify one when you create the input, either in the Manager GUI, or with sourcetype = mysourcetype in inputs.conf, or with a sourcetype stanza based on source in props.conf.

If you were using a Splunk forwarder that would be it. If not, you may have to use a TRANSFORM stanza to modify/set the sourcetype at index time, much as with host names: http://www.splunk.com/base/Documentation/latest/Admin/Overridedefaulthostassignments

You can rename sourcetypes in 4.x. props.conf.spec says:

rename = <string>
* Renames <sourcetype> as <string>
* With renaming, you can search for the sourcetype with sourcetype=<string>
* To search for the original sourcetype without renaming, use the field _sourcetype

therefore, for example:

[myoldsourcetype]
rename = mynewsourcetype
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

.conf24 | Registration Open!