Getting Data In

Performing procedural search on daily indexed data, appending results as they appear.

jacksonmcarthur
Engager

Just looking for the best practice solution to the below problem. I'm pretty new to Splunk, so I feel the answer might be quite simple.

The problem:
Currently, a million logs come into a location daily. At the end of every month, these logs are indexed, and a report based on search results is created. Since thirty million logs are all being processed in a block, it takes a lot of time to index them - and an even longer time to search.

The fix:
A single search runs over the course of the month, indexing new logs as they arrive, searching them, and appending all results in one large XML, or CSV, or similar.

The implementations:
• Set an alert that triggers on detecting new files to be indexed. I.e: if not already indexed, index them and immediately run the search on these new files, then append resulting search data to file.

• Run tscollect daily on data that is already not indexed in a .tsidx to collect a relevant subset of data from raw, then process it in a block to create a report at end-of-month using the quicker tstats.

• Simply set a scheduled search (searching last 24h) to run daily after the logs are indexed, appending results to file.

Thanks for the help!

0 Karma
1 Solution

koshyk
Super Champion

eh.!? why you want to do all these complicated logic of triggering detection?

Splunk collection in inputs.conf uses "monitor" and "batch" can automatically do this for you.. ie. look when they arrive and index it instantly and it will check if it has been indexed already etc.

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.0.2/Data/Monitorfilesanddirectorieswithinputs.conf

In your case, I would just do a monitor and it will be all good

[monitor:///your/location/with/read/permission/*.log]
disabled = 0
sourcetype = mycustom_logs
index = my_index