Getting Data In

Monitoring a wireshark file using Splunk

misteryuku
Communicator

How does the Splunk monitor a Wireshark capture file in its textual form in windows 7? I converted the wireshark pcap file to the txt file. Based on what i read from the Splunk answers forum : http://splunk-base.splunk.com/answers/2922/splunk-monitoring-a-wireshark-file , jerrad installed the Splunk Light Forwarder and have it monitor the textual file from the /tshark/splunk/gtp/ directory.

So that means i can set up a Splunk light forwarder using Splunk web right? I followed the instructions from the http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Deploy/Deployaforwarder which teaches how to set up the light heavy forwarders. The instruction states a heavy forwarder has to be set up before setting up a light forwarder, which im not sure of cos i clicked add new against the configure forwarding section, which i have entered the host and port no and saved the settings.

However, i'm quite new to Splunk and now im using Splunk 4.3. When i was about to go to the manager in the Splunk Web to set up the forwarder, the instruction in the forwarding and recieving section in manager states that CAUTION: This will immediately turn off Splunk Web if the light forwarder in the Splunk web. So i would like to know if the light forwarder is the one that monitors the converted wireshark captured file as txt file since Splunk 4.3 ?

I hope this would not be treated as a duplicate question.

Drainy
Champion