Getting Data In

Monitoring/Forwarding data on the Splunk server itself

mercierj
Explorer

My apologies if this question seems mundane or was answered elsewhere but I have searched to no avail.  I am completely new to Splunk and am pathfinding the installation and configuration for use as a syslog and audit log store similar to how ELK is often used.  While we will add additional data sources at some point my primary focus is on collecting and forwarding /var/log/audit/audit.log and /var/log/auth.log from various Ubuntu hosts into Splunk 8.2(.2.1) Enterprise.

My initial attempt involved installing the UF alongside the Splunk server installation which did not turn out well.  Realizing that they are essentially the same daemon and use the same default ports they obviously conflict.  So instead I attempted to use the Splunk installation itself as so:

user@splunkhost:~$ sudo /opt/splunk/bin/splunk add forward-server splunkserver:9997
user@splunkhost:~$ sudo /opt/splunk/bin/splunk list forward-server
user@splunkhost:~$ sudo /opt/splunk/bin/splunk add monitor /var/log/audit/audit.log -index main -sourcetype %audit-log%
user@splunkhost:~$ sudo /opt/splunk/bin/splunk add monitor /var/log/auth.log -index main -sourcetype %auth-log%

However this also did not work and caused the pipeline to essentially become stuck and back up.  I believe the error message was something about the TCP output processor pausing the data flow.  I am just unsure why.

Essentially I need to collect the security logs from the Splunk server host and index them in Splunk along with everything else but am at a loss as to how this can be accomplished.

Any help or pointers would be most appreciated.  Thank you!

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust