Getting Data In

Is there any way to the total capacity of syslog server?

debjit_k
Path Finder

Hi All, 

I'm very new in Splunk kindly guide.

We have one syslog server integrated on UF my question is how to know the capacity of syslog server.

Is there any way I could know the total capacity of syslog server.

Thank you in advance!!

Labels (1)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Depends on what you mean by "capacity". If you mean the performance limits - it higly depends on what syslog server we're talking about. Splunk's built in plain tcp and udp inputs are not very well suited for production use (due to performance reasons as well as no sane way of keeping some network-level metadata) so I wouldn't use them in real life.

If we're talking about rsyslog or syslog-ng based solutions (including sc4s) possible performance can be influenced heavily by what you do with the events you receive, whether you use TLS and so on. But in general, syslog is a relatively lightweight messaging system so unless you're doing something strange, relatively small machine should suffice. I have a 16-core server as a central syslog-collector and most of the time it's using at most 4-5 cores with traffic at almost constant 30k EPS. But on the next layer, where I receive the events, do some fancy rewriting, filtering and other stuff and forward it to HEC inputs I see a constant use of about 14-16 cores. So you see that for the same traffic the load can be significantly different depending on what you do with it.

0 Karma

debjit_k
Path Finder

Hi 

Thank your for this wonderful info.

But my asking is is there any path on server where I can see the specification of syslog server

For example 

6 core processor 

Rom is 1 GB 

And also I want to know is there any way I can know for 1 day Syslog server can inject 4GB of data just like the Splunk license utility. 

Thank you 

Tags (1)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust