Getting Data In

Is it possible to prioritize what data is forwarded from a heavy forwarder? (ex: security data first, then non-security data)

dkeck
Influencer

Hi everybody,

I'm new in Splunk, so be gentle, please.

So that's the scenario:

I have a Splunk Heavy forwarder, and I want to know if it is possible to prioritize the data which is forwarded to the indexer(s)?

For example: I have security relevant log data and I want this data to be forwarded first, every time. So that non-security relevant data is held back until the security relevant data is indexed.

Is that possible and how?

If possible, looking for solutions which are built-in to out-of-box Splunk, add-ons etc. I can't use another software for it since the system Splunk is running on is already pretty limited.

Thank you

David

1 Solution

ryandg
Communicator

The only answer I have is one that you won't really benefit from. We had Splunk Pro Services visit us and one of the questions that came up was this exact question. Splunk does not have any prioritization ability according to them, hopefully someone will correct me if this was wrong but that is what we were told.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

ryandg
Communicator

The only answer I have is one that you won't really benefit from. We had Splunk Pro Services visit us and one of the questions that came up was this exact question. Splunk does not have any prioritization ability according to them, hopefully someone will correct me if this was wrong but that is what we were told.

0 Karma

dkeck
Influencer

Nobody has an answer? too bad.

0 Karma

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

What problems are you experiencing that you feel needs to be solved with prioritization of certain logs/data over other logs/data? Are you having problems out of your indexer, since it's already at the edge of overloaded?