Getting Data In

Is it possible to create another sourcetype under the same index from another sourcetype

oylkm
Explorer

Hello Guys, newbie here. 

I've got data that's being sent to a generic sourcetype and I want to carve out another sourcetype based on this particular one. Is that possible and are there any ramifications to note on doing this?

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@oylkm you can keep it same app under /local dir.. not in default dir it works but local is suggested. You might need to test new sourcetype settings.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

oylkm
Explorer

It's not really a generic log per se, the index and sourcetype is based on F5 logs and I want to carve out a new sourcetype to see a different type of data and we are not using the splunkbase app for this. 

0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@oylkm then you might need to define line breaking and timestamp extraction. If there is a addon for F5 in splunkbase it might be already having sourcetype definitions that you are after.

0 Karma

oylkm
Explorer

I'm thinking along the lines of taking a sample of the new data that I want to see in the new sourcetype and define it but any recommendations is fine. 

0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @oylkm 

You can create your own sourcetype from default generic sourcetype. Just goto props.conf and copy contents under generic sourcetype and create your own. you can create new props.conf under $SPLUNK_HOME/system/local OR $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/<your_app_name>/local. The new props shall be deployed to HF/indexer depends on your Splunk infra.

change generic to new sourcetype in inputs.conf at origin.

---

An upvote would be appreciated and Accept solution if it helps!

0 Karma

oylkm
Explorer