Getting Data In

Indexing and parsing Azure AD logs

vrajshekar
Path Finder

I am new to splunk, we are currently trying to configure Splunk to parse AzureAD logs being received from a Syslog server.

I have installed multiple apps/add-ons, but none of them are helping me parse the logs.

I have configured inputs.conf, and when I set the sourcetype from Add-on, it doesn't work.

How can I achieve this. please help

0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @vrajshekar 

You are not using the Add-on to pull the logs from MS API as described in docs, If you are getting them from syslog server then are you storing them on files (or) directly trying to forward to Splunk HF/indexer?

if you are storing syslog on files and forwarding them via UF then you have to set-up  inputs.conf and use the sourcetype=o365:management:activity

You need to find props.conf inside add-on having sourcetype - [o365:management:activity] and copy the props file to the Heavy Forwarder/Indexer depends on your set-up either to location /opt/splunk/system/local or /opt/splunk/etc/apps/<yourapp>/local/, then restart the HF/indexer. 

This is a general stuff most of the Splunkers follow, you have to improvise depends on your set-up. The above process works for parsing only.

--------------------

An upvote would be appreciated if it helps!

0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @vrajshekar 

As per docs 'Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Office 365' is the right add-on to pull the logs from MS API. Since you are using syslog as intermediate to send the logs to Splunk, you shall check what's the change in log structure if there is a change (usually syslog messages having additional headers added) you shall write your own parsing during index time.