Getting Data In

Index showing latest data as over a month ago but events are still coming in

lkm93
Explorer

Hi,

I have recently started looking at .conf files and configuring them to log specific site data.

After I made my changes and everything was getting logged I have come across an odd issue where by my index is showing latest and earliest data is 20+ days ago. When I run searches and queries against the index there is data still coming in in real time. Anyone come across this and how would i go about trouble shooting this?

Example of my index:

alt text

IndexA  Earliest 23 days ago    Latest 23 days ago  $SPLUNK_DB/IndexA/db    

(Disclaimer I'm relatively new to this Splunk world please bear with me)

0 Karma

lkm93
Explorer

Hi @nickhillscpl,

Here's the an attachment of the screenshot I took earlier this morning:

alt text

And below is a screenshot of the results take from the command you provided:

alt text

In the Splunk server column you will see server xxxxx_01. We have 3 index servers running on there as a cluster. the rest wont show the screenshot but i hope this makes the set up a bit clearer?

0 Karma

nickhills
Ultra Champion

And is xxxx_01 the server you are looking at in the first screenshot you posted in the question?

I may have guessed wrong wrong, but I wonder if you are looking at the index stats (where it says 23 days ago) on the search head, if so, then that is expected.

A SearchHead can't actually reflect the index statistics of your indexers.
Seeing as you have 3 indexers, have you tried looking at the index stats on xxxxx_01/2/3 - my instict is that the 3 indexers will have events from "a few seconds ago"
This is totally normal.