Getting Data In

Index emails to splunk

neeravmathur
Path Finder

Hi Guys,

We have a requirement where we need to index emails  to be ingested into splunk. I know a couple of apps are out there but I could not get them working...also not sure how to setup/request a mail account for splunk specifically for this purpose like what all settings should be applied etc. 

I am a novice as far as mail settings are concerned, so can someone take some time and help me out here and be as detailed as possible...We are using Splunk 8.0.0

Thanks,

Neerav

Labels (1)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Firstly, you should ask yourself what do you mean by "index emails". You want to have raw email headers in your splunk indexes? Email bodies? Some form of a header "extract"?

Secondly - where do you have or can have the emails that you want to perform indexing on? Do you have some account in Exchange that you want to pull the emails from? Or do you want to do indexing on all emails coming into your postfix/exim/whatever server? Do you want to process emails for a particular user or emails for all users?

Answers to those two questions should point you towards a reasonable solution.

0 Karma

neeravmathur
Path Finder

@PickleRick Thanks for your prompt response....

We have Oracle OEM sending out error messages via emails to some users and we need a splunk specific account which can be added on this mail. So we would need to ingest actual mail body as they contain info about Oracle alerts.

These users have domain/NT account email IDs (O365).

Need help regarding what app to use compatible with splunk 8.0.0 and some details of how to set it up.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxSAMPLE MAILxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Sent: Tuesday, September 28, 2021 10:22 AM
To: X.Y@abc.com
Subject: EM Event: Critical:bwprod - SQL running For Long TIme: UserInfo = Inst: 3\,SID:2338 \, OSUSER:xxxxxx-yyyy \, machine:US*******\, sql_id:2ptaaaaaaaaaaaaar Time(in mins) = 76

Host=us**********