Getting Data In

How to properly include info that wasn't included in the final result?

dbrewer1989_mc
Engager
Hello!

I'm relatively new to Splunk but I've worked with databases over the years so I felt like approaching this wasn't too bad. 

The problem: in our situation, we have hosts that exist under our own index for an application. However sometimes those hosts go down or stop reporting logs. That's a separate issue but it's something we want to detect and give the user/client insight into which hosts are up and which ones are down.

So here's what I have so far: ( I attempted a code sample here but it wasn't working )

| union
    [ search index=unique_index host IN ($hosts$) source="<applicationPath>/http_logs/access_log.log"
    | dedup host
    | stats count by host
    | rename host AS hostsFound
    | fields hostsFound]
    [ makeresults
    | eval hosts=split("$hosts$", ",")]
| eventstats values(hosts) as AllHosts
| stats count(hostsFound) as Match dc(AllHosts) as MaxMatch values(hostsFound) as HostsFound values(AllHosts) as AllHosts
| search Match < MaxMatch
| mvexpand AllHosts
| where !(AllHosts in (HostsFound))
| rename AllHosts as HostsMissing
| eval hosts=mvappend(HostsFound,HostsMissing)
| fields hosts,HostsMissing
| mvexpand hosts
| eval count = if(hosts in (HostsMissing), 0, 1)
| table hosts, count | dedup hosts

"$hosts$" is a local variable we have on the dashboard for this query so when a list of hosts are selected, or just one host, then it'll populate there and run the query.

This is a bit of a combination of what I've read on these forums and what I can up with. In the end we're doing the initial query in the union to get what results we have our there for hosts that report back. It's just a tomcat access log. Then the other side of the union are all of the hosts we pass in. In our example we have 7 that report and one that does not, so a total of 8.