Getting Data In

How to parse out a single line following a static line in a java stack trace?

enkidu999

Hello,

I am new to Splunk and attempting to parse and display a single line of text from a java stack trace captured in a single event.

Here is a sample of the stack trace:

com.sun.proxy.$Proxy90.executeOpCodeForXml(Unknown Source)
ca.shaw.billing.integration.core.BrmGateway.buildConnection(BrmGateway.java:61)
ca.shaw.billing.integration.core.BrmGateway.executeOpCodeForXml(BrmGateway.java:39)
ca.shaw.billing.tasks.account.overview.AccountOverviewTask.getAgingBucketsResponseFlist(AccountOverviewTask.java:93)
ca.shaw.billing.tasks.account.overview.AccountOverviewTask.getAccountOverviewInfo(AccountOverviewTask.java:64)

I have built a "top" display for all the events which find this stack trace over a given period of time using the following query:

index=brm source=/opt/brm/weblogic/Oracle/Middleware/user_projects/domains/billing_service_domain/servers/* "[STUCK] ExecuteThread" "socketRead0" | rex field=_raw "X_SHAW_TRANSACTION_ID:(?.*)" 
| eval myTime=strftime(_time,"%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S.%Q")
| dedup theTransaction 
|  top 0 myTime,theTransaction

What I am having trouble with is parsing out the line that follows a static line which is in all stack traces:

ca.shaw.billing.integration.core.BrmGateway.executeOpCodeForXml(BrmGateway.java:39)

...then add this result to the display as well.

From above, the line I would want is:

ca.shaw.billing.tasks.account.overview.AccountOverviewTask.getAgingBucketsResponseFlist(AccountOverviewTask.java:93)

Any help would be appreciated!

0 Karma
1 Solution

jnudell_2
Builder

Hello enkidu999,

If you want to parse out the line following a line in an event, here is how you would do it. Let's take your sample data:

ca.shaw.billing.tasks.account.overview.AccountOverviewTask.getAccountOverviewInfo(AccountOverviewTask.java:64)