Getting Data In

How to extract event data that displays as JSON?

dhirendra761
Contributor

After uploading local file, i found event name "monitoringData" as {"deliverableType":"Manual","docType":"CSDBL","docId":"SSH","revisionDate":1532370600000,"format":"S1KD","attachmentType":null,"attachmentIssueDate":1532370600000,"acknowledgment":null,"acknowledgmentDate":null,"productionOrder":"SRDD","domain":null,"alt text,"onlineAvailabilityData":null}
I need to genrate event dig deep into " monitoringData"
Required events like majorEvent,deliverableType, onlineAvailabilityData, docType and so- on.
Please suggest me. I am new in splunk.My file content below type of data:
"monitoringData":"{\"deliverableType\":\"Manual\",\"docType\":\"CSDBL\",\"docId\":\"KKH\",\"revisionDate\":1532802600000,\"format\":\"S1KD\",\"attachmentIssueDate\":1532802600000,\"acknowledgment\":null,\"acknowledgmentDate\":null,\"productionOrder\":\"SRDD\",\"domain\":null,\",\"itemId\":\"259_S1KD\",\"onlineAvailabilityData\":null,\"acksStatus\":null}","startPublicationDate":"1532686970112","jobSourceId":"IM01-SRDD","status":"IN_PROGRESS","appEnv":"dev","appProduct":"1T40"}

0 Karma
1 Solution

sudosplunk
Motivator

The spath command enables you to extract information from structured data formats, JSON. The command stores this information in one or more fields. The command also highlights the syntax in the displayed events list. More info about spath.
your_search | spath input=monitoringData

Alternatives to the spath command
If you are using autokv or index-time field extractions, the path extractions are performed for you at index time.

You do not need to explicitly use the spath command to provide a path.

If using indexed_extractions=JSON or using KV_MODE=JSON in the props.conf file, then the spath command is not necessary to explicitly use.

In your props.conf, add KV_MODE and restart splunk.

[adns]
KV_MODE=JSON

Let me know if this doesn't help and I can provide you the regular expression.