Getting Data In

How to export "Structured Logs" from Splunk to CSV file

psychogyiokosta

Hello.

I am new with Splunk, I have the following question/issue:

My goal is to parse a raw log file with Splunk and save and download/extract the new generated structured log file as a csv file.

I ran this SPL search:

host="vm-nc-23" index="deeplog" sourcetype="hdfs_log" Content=*
| eval rex_template=replace(Content,"[_]*[-]*\d+","*")
| cluster t=0.5 labelonly=true labelfield=Template match=termlist field=rex_template
| stats count AS Occurences, values(rex_template) AS REGEX_Expressions by Template

Which outputs a set of n(=35) templates (the 'Content' field of logs, where variables/parameters are replaced with wildcards).

The templates can be viewed at the "Statistics" Tab and can be exported as a CSV file.

Instead, I would like to export the structured logs which include the additional field 'Template' among others (Time, PID, Component, Content, Level, etc.) from our SPL search. The structured logs can be vieweb in "Events" Tab.

I am confident that there isn't an option for exporting this from Splunk GUI. Any advice on how I could achieve this?

Thank you in advance!

0 Karma

psychogyiokosta

Using the following SPL query:

host="vm-nc-23" index="deeplog" sourcetype="hdfs_log" Content=*

| eval rex_template=replace(Content,"[_]*[-]*\d+","*")

i found out that i am able to extract manually the .csv file of the "structured" logs, that is the logs with the fields that Splunk defines.
In these fields, there is also 1 field called "rex_template which extracts the Template of a given log line, as we have defined it here:

eval rex_template=replace(Content,"[_]*[-]*\d+","*")

This way of selecting the templates looks very basic. What would we do if we want to extract the structured logs, where the rex_template column is better structured?

an example of the current "basic" template extraction would be this: