Getting Data In

How to create a month over month, year over year report on web analytics metrics data from CSV files?

jrcajide

Hi folks!
This is my first post here. I am new to Splunk although I have been intensively working with it for the last 8 weeks. I would appreciate some help for you to create a report. I have read dozens of posts, even the great Exploring Splunk book by D. Carasso but couldn't get exactly what I am trying to achieve.
I have daily events from csv files with some web analytics metrics. What I want is to generate a report in the following way:

month    users  usersMoM  usersYoY  sessions  sessionsMoM sessionYoY ...
201410  500 10%    -4%      25000     12%       -3% ...

Where MoM compares the metric towards the value from previous month (201409) and YoY towards the value from the same month from previous year (201310)
Is it possible?
Thanks for your help.

Tags (3)
0 Karma

wpreston
Motivator

Have you tried the timewrap app? It adds a new Splunk search command that was specifically created for time over time comparisons. You can get it here: https://apps.splunk.com/app/1645/. Give it a try and see if it works for you.

Muryoutaisuu
Communicator

Don't know why I forgot to bring up that exceptional tool:

timewrap: https://apps.splunk.com/app/1645/

download and install it and then make your search something like that:

YOURSEARCH earliest=-1year@month latest=@month
| timechart sum(num_users)
| timewrap m

The you also can make a fancy chart

wpreston
Motivator

You're too quick for me 🙂

0 Karma

Muryoutaisuu
Communicator

Got me 6 days to remember timewrap... 😉

0 Karma

Muryoutaisuu
Communicator

Hi. Assuming situation from your question:

current month = 201411

month = 201410

previous month = 201409

Try:

YOURSEARCH -1month@month latest=@month | stats count users as users_month
| append [ YOURSEARCH earliest=-2month@month latest=-1month@month | stats count users as users_MoM ]