Getting Data In

How to best configure Splunk syslog and Cisco Sourcefire Defense Center?

abhsha
Engager

Hi,

I am new to Splunk and I'm trying to configure the Syslog for Sourcefire Defense Center. I am using the latest version of Splunk Light (installed on Windows 7 64 bit) and the latest Defense Center. I have configured the Defense Center to send Syslogs on TCP 514. I have configured the data input as "syslog" and "TCP 514", but I am unable to see the Syslogs on Splunk search.

I ran a wireshark on the Windows 7 on which Splunk is installed, and I confirm that the Syslogs are being captured. I must be missing some configuration on the Splunk. Can you please advise?

Thank you

0 Karma
1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

There's a list of things to try here. A long, long list so I apologize for the length. Please be careful as you go through, perhaps printing it out and checking things off as you test them. You'll have to google some of the pieces, too, using your own environment's information. If you continue to have trouble after going through this, please list which all you tried and worked fine, and where it finally went wrong.

BTW, a few of these steps are skipped (see first paragraph below) and in the later ones some are repeats of things that have been tried. Please just try then again for the sake of completeness.

First, you have already confirmed the packets are making it to your server via tcpdump/wireshark. Great, that would be step one and knowing that removes the entire "Have you configured your SourceFire Defense Center properly" question.

Now, on the OS side.