Getting Data In

How to add scripts as data input?

tamduong16
Contributor

This is my first time dealing with script input. I tried to place my python script in both of these directories (C:\Program Files\Splunk\bin\scripts, C:\Program Files\Splunk\etc\apps\search\bin) and it hasn't work. I run in python idle and the scripts actually index data into my splunk enviroment. But when I want to add it as a script input, I don't get anything back. It looks like python script never been run. Did I have it in the right file? I didn't create a splunk app for this. What can I do inorder for it to be run in splunk? Here is my python script. Thanks so much!

0 Karma
1 Solution

niketn
Legend

@tamduong16, yes you need to configure Data Input similar to how you would setup File Monitor, Performance Monitors etc. Splunk would need to know what to read, from where to read and how frequently to read, where to index and setting up source/sourcetype etc. These you would need to configure in inputs.conf either through Splunk Web or CLI. Refer to the documentation: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Data/Getdatafromscriptedinputs#Add_a_scripted_inp...

Also read about Writing Reliable scripts documentation, as most of the time scripted inputs have a wrapper script as well as maintain your own last indexed data/recovery/parallel execution etc: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/AdvancedDev/ScriptSetup

Once you have completely tested and made your scripted input robust for your scenario, you may be able to build an Add on using Splunk Add On Builder or move towards creating your Modular Input to Splunk

View solution in original post

niketn
Legend