Getting Data In

How to Extract the host values from the path?

cecilia_cheng1
Explorer

Hello everyone,

I am new to splunk. I've got trouble when I was trying to get host values from the path.

The directory I set is D:\14. splunk\SMT\. No matter what kind of extract function i was using: regex or segment, it doesn't work.

For example,

The host name of the following file should be "PCXXXXX", but it still shows the default host name .

Capture-2.PNG

However, I already set the host name with regex on path, but it doesn't work...

I also tried Segment in path, it still the same...

Untitled picture.png

Please help...

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @cecilia_cheng1,

if you already indexed data, they remain in Splunk even if you deleted files!

If you want to delete them from Splunk, you have to use the delete command (with much muche attention!), but anyway, we're speaking of a logical deletion and not of a physical deletion.

If my answer solves your need, please accept it for the other people of Community.

See next time.

Ciao and happy splunking.

Giuseppe

P.S.: Karma Points are appreciated 😉

View solution in original post

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @cecilia_cheng1,

you could use the host_segment=3 but anyway, the regex to take the value is

^\w+:(\\[^\\]+){2}\\(?<host>[^\\]+)

that you can test at https://regex101.com/r/hPopwS/1

Ciao.

Giuseppe

cecilia_cheng1
Explorer

Hi @gcusello,

Really appreciated your reply,  I just tried your suggestion, but it still doesn't work... And I've tried the segment 3 before, not working...

😭

BR.

Cecilia

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @cecilia_cheng1,

please try this:

in your inputs.conf stanza

[monitor://D:\*\SMT\*]
host_regex = ^\w+:(\\[^\\]+){2}\\([^\\]+)

Otherwise, you could override the host value on Indexers or Heavy Forwarders in this way:

props.conf

#props.conf
[your_sourcetype]
TRANSFORMS-hostFromSource=hostFromSource

transforms.conf