Getting Data In

How do I get useful information\reports from Splunk about Windows desktops and servers?

gph12
Explorer

Hi Everyone,

How can I get useful information and\or reports from Splunk? I'm new to Splunk and we have a compliance requirement to meet by the end of the month. We need to configure Splunk to email reports to Sys Admins each day with highlights, critical issues, etc. Of course, there's no time for training and we have other pressing issues so I'm basically doing this in between other responsibilities...like everyone these days.

We rolled it out on one of our smaller networks of less than 50 Windows desktops and servers. The Splunk server is installed and the clients are sending logs to it via the Universal Forwarder. But I don't understand Splunk enough to get what I need.

With Windows Event Viewer, you can sort the System and Application logs by Level. Then you can see the entries by whether they are Errors, Warnings, and Informational. The errors with red exclamation points are what we reviewed before Splunk. I'd like to get the equivalent of that for each desktop and server. Then I'd like to get a summary of the major errors for all desktops and servers. Then I need to create daily reports and get them emailed to me (or a link to a report emailed).

I went through the Search Tutorial but need more real world examples. I'd appreciate quick tips, video links or a direction on where to start.

Thanks in advance.

Greg

0 Karma
1 Solution

lukas_loder
Communicator

Have you installed the Windows-TA app on your forwarder? and on your Indexer/server?

This search

index={your Index} type=1

Gets you all the critical windows events. with host={your host} you can also just get the logs from one server

with this one you get a list of which eventcode you got how often

index={your index} type=1 | stats count by EventCode