Getting Data In

How do I gather logs from my Solaris instances without a forwarder?

mikefennell

Hi Forum

I am looking for advice / suggestions / guidance in relation to gathering logs from my Solaris instances running an EDRM s/w (Livelink).

I have the following setup:
- Splunk server (Windows 2003 R2)
- EDRM system (all Solaris 10 servers)

I am new to Splunk and cannot see how I go about capturing my logs. I have an add-on from our s/w supplier written to logs for specific log types from the application instances, but from the looks of it, the only way I can get the logs from my Solaris boxes to my Windows box where Splunk sits is by using a forwarder?

I would appreciate any advice or knowledge from anyone who has already done this. Worth noting I may have issues with installing the forwarder within our environments internally, hence, why I ask the question.

Regards
Mike.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

neelshah
Path Finder

HI ..

If you do not want to install a forwarder, no problem.
You may want to write a shell script to copy and replicate log files on your server (You may want to use script using SFTP/FTP)

I wouldn't suggest receiving Syslog using port 514 simply because when you take your indexer down for patching, you'll lost the data. Hope that makes sense (That again depends on how critical is your data)

Regards,
Neel

0 Karma

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Configure syslog on your servers to send whatever logs you need over syslog to the Splunk server. I'm sure this process is documented in the Solaris docs. You could, if necessary, probably set up one of those servers as a collector to funnel all this traffic through, although that's probably more work than it's worth.