Getting Data In

How do I check if Splunk has received logs from hundreds of different sources/hosts/devices?

northern_bstrd

I am relatively new to a company that has used Splunk Professional Services to spin up a Splunk Cloud environment before I was hired. The company IT has onboarded a lot of AWS, Azure, on-prem and network devices so far. I’m trying to verify that they are in fact sending logs into the Splunk index so that I can eventually apply use cases and alerting on the logs as well as troubleshoot those hosts which aren’t sending but are supposed to be. There isn’t a Splunk resource in the company so I am trying my best to figure it as I go. (classic)

The IT manager gave me a spreadsheet of hostnames and private IP addresses for all the devices which are forwarding logs. At first I thought I could run a search to just compare his list with logs received by hostname but I can’t figure that out. Here’s what I did instead.

Over a 30-day search I run | metadata type=hosts index=* and I exported the results to a csv. I took the ‘hosts’ column (which was a combination of hostnames and IP addresses) from the export and did a diff against the IT managers list of hostnames/IP addresses and where it wasn’t found, presumed it had not sent logs during that time period. The inventory has about ~850 line items in total which are supposedly onboarded and I saw logs from about ~250. Obviously I am second guessing myself because of the delta.