Getting Data In

How can I configure Splunk to read a csv file from a universal forwarder?

chadman
Path Finder

I'm new to Splunk and having a hard time getting it setup to sort a csv file. I'm able to send my csv logs to the indexer using the universal forwarder. From what I have read it looks like we want to do the sorts at search time and not with the forwarder. So could someone tell me what files I would have to edit to make this happen?

So far I see

C:\Program Files\Splunk\etc\apps\search\local\inputs.conf
[splunktcp://9997]
connection_host = ip
disabled = 1

My log files all have a name and path from the clients that looks like
C:\Program Files\SysCheck\Logs\11-2014_Log.txt
I have tried to edit the inputs.conf, props.conf and transforms.conf without any luck. I did have some success with one log file on my local workstation, but have not been able to do the same thing with the forwarder using multiple clients. So any help on what files I need to edit so when I search my csv files I can see all the fields would be great!

1 Solution

esix_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

To enable the extraction of a CSV file, there are a few approaches. If the data is static and the fields are always the same, you can define this per the sourcetype, refer to : http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.2.1/Data/Extractfieldsfromfileheadersatindextime#Edit_...

Basically you would need this in your props.conf on your indexer (a UF cannot parse, just send the data..)

Generally the below is a good starting point.

[mysourcetypecsv]
FIELD_DELIMITER=,
FIELD_NAMES=myfield1,myfield2,myfield3,myfield4

View solution in original post

tanwadh

Hi Team,

This is with regards to the integration of Splunk with jmeter.
I am able to get the data into the splunk in below form. Every sample has different parameter values as shown below
Could you please assist me extract the required fields by using the reg ex or updating the conf files.

Sample Set 1:-