Getting Data In

Configure UF - To Clustered index

dordavid
Explorer

Hello everyone,

background:

I want to create new Splunk environment. i'm still in a learning process - i'm new to splunk. My environment today includes:

- 3 indexers
- 3 search heads
- 1 cluster master that also serves as a License master

- 1 Universal forwarder

** [ All servers are Linux servers ] **

I want to build my Splunk environment in a "Cluster configuration mode":

I want to send data from the universal forwarder to the Cluster master, and from there to my indexers.

My main target is to collect logs from different application servers [by sending me syslog or http] in order to monitor their status:  I want to create a unique index for each app: for example, the logs that are sent from an app called app1 will go into an index called "index_app1"

I would like to get help with those following questions:

1. How can i check if the cluster master know the universal forwarder? How do I check it?

2. I want to understand how I configure in the "Inputs.conf file" of a my universal forwarder: 

I want to allow each app to send logs to uf in different port [in tcp or in udp]:

for example:
- Application A will send logs to my universal-forwarder in port 4928 , application B will send logs to my universal-forwarder in port 4929

3. How can I send the messages to the cluster master and to recognize what the correct index which the messages belong: 

All messages that which sent from application A will be under index_app1

All messages that which sent from application B will be under index_app2 

Thank you for help!

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust