Getting Data In

Configuration of UF on Windows server- Confusion over inputs and outputs configuration

dujas
Explorer

Hi All,

I am new to the UF on Windows and here is the deployment in my lab:

1 Splunk Enterprise instance running on Centos8

1 UF running on Windows pointing to the instance above

For now, I am able to retrieve the events on seach bar like "host="DESKTOP-JQJVH8A" source="WinEventLog:Security"".

What I am confused is about the configuration file:

outputs.conf: D:\SplunkUniversalForwarder\etc\system\local

inputs.conf: D:\SplunkUniversalForwarder\etc\apps\SplunkUniversalForwarder\local

Why is the inputs.conf not in the same directory as outputs.conf, is this owning to the installation?

Say I would like to add some more stanzas in the inputs.conf, do I need to create a new inputs.conf in etc\system\local or modify the existing one in etc\apps\SplunkUniversalForwarder\local?

Thanks.

Labels (3)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Splunk builds a consolidated configuration based on various files it has in various directories in its etc/ directory. There is a precedence of files when the settings are applied to the resulting configurations.

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.2.6/Admin/Wheretofindtheconfigurationfiles

This mechanism lets you deploy a configuration in a modularized way, so you can - for example - distribute an app with a disabled input to all your forwarders and then only overwrite one setting on one forwarder which will effectively enable the input.

EDIT: So the question where you _should_ put your file is not a question which has a one good-for-all answer. It's a question which is not a technical one as much as a matter of convention that you follow in your infrastructure and manageability.