Getting Data In

Blacklisting from Universal Forwarder to Heavy Forwarder?

GiordanoB
Engager

Hello guys.

Im inherited an splunk enviromment and im kinda new to this, so i'm studying quite a lot. 
In my scenario i have something like 100 Windows UF sending info to 01 Heavy Forwarder which sends to 3 indexers and complete the proccess. 
Now i want to filter these infos and i'm wondering if i can make a blacklist in the HF to filter these logs, if i can, which is the best way?
- In local folder create a inputs.conf and changing from there? I've tried this one and i think it worked, the problem is the logs went to the main index and i could'nt figure out how to change it.

- Create some filter in the Indexers?

Thanks for the help so far.

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

First, you should have more than 1 HF.  A lone HF is a single point of failure and can lead to performance problems.

Filter on the HF using props and transforms the same you would on an indexer.  Since the HF is processing the data on behalf of the indexer, filtering must be done there.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

GiordanoB
Engager

@richgalloway appreciate your explanation, in the entire scenario this customer have this farm:

2 x HF (One for Data Inputs and other forwardings and the second (which is my problem) with ONLY Windows).

3 x Indexers, 1 SH and 1 CM.

I'm gonna try your solution as a temporary solution.

@isoutamo  what i understand with what i've learned from these two HF, they work with 2 locations, each HF works only with their physical locations, still, another job is now to move these UF to the IDX, and i think this will take some time. Do you have a suggestion in how to do that?

Thanks for the help in advance. Best regards.

0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust