Getting Data In

Archive Splunk buckets to AWS S3?

sarnagar
Contributor

How can I send splunk cold buckets to S3?
We have our on-premises splunk and send Splunk data to S3 for longer storage.

I came across this Hadoop Data Roll that sends the splunk data to S3A filesystem. This looks something to deal with Hadoop+S3 , which Im not quite aware of. I'm very new to AWS. I thought Splunk can send data directly to S3 for archival. Isnt that possible?

The document says to provide some provider parameters. Can someone please elaborate on this? Does this mean I need to have Hadoop installed on S3?

link text

Tags (3)

kpkeimig
Path Finder

Attempting to bring this current. 

For Splunk cloud: customers: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/SplunkCloud/8.1.2011/Admin/DataSelfStorage

For Splunk enterprise with SmartStore(s3):
https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.1.3/Indexer/SmartStorearchitecture

https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/archive-s3-to-glacier/

For Splunk enterprise without smartstore:

No similar feature found.  Build your own as previously mentioned.

see also (https://community.splunk.com/t5/All-Apps-and-Add-ons/How-to-put-cold-and-frozen-data-on-s3-in-AWS/)

sbutto
Explorer

I have, starting from a Splunk python script, developed coldToFrozenPlusS3Uplaod.py that encrypts and uploads frozen buckets to S3.

It can be found here: https://github.com/marboxvel/Encrypt-upload-archived-Splunk-buckets

vliggio
Communicator

Take a look at the indexes.conf documentation for Splunk 7.0. There's a new feature (unsupported, hopefully out in 7.1?) called remotePath and storageType (look at the very end for an example). Automatically handles S3 and caching data back for searching.

chris
Motivator

Still not supported in 7.1. It would be nice to have a remoteFrozenPath in 7.2

0 Karma

ByteFlinger
Engager

@nickhillscpl