Getting Data In

Appending vs overwriting tailed log files

chjpcert
Explorer

I've been testing Splunk for several months now, and am consistently having problems with duplicate events appearing in the index. This sort of inconsistency is a show-stopper, so I decided to write a simple test case to investigate.

Our actual conditions are:

• remote log file downloaded to /tmp via HTTP as a cron job
  • when downloading complete, log file in /tmp overwritten over the old log file
  • Splunk picks up the file and should only index new entries

However, throughout the day, we see a lot of duplicate entries, often in the magnitude of 10x the original number of log entries.

Experimenting, it seemed that Splunk might act differently depending on whether the log is being overwritten or appended to.

I ran a test script for about 12 hours, which continually added a new lines to two log files by either appending to a temp file and then overwriting to the monitored file, or directly appending to the monitored file.

Raw files:

$ wc -l ~/data/test/*
   63987 /home/splunk/data/test/append.log
   63374 /home/splunk/data/test/overwrite.log

In Splunk:

/home/splunk/data/test/overwrite.log | 8,994,387
/home/splunk/data/test/append.log | 63,965 

You can clearly see the reindexing issue in overwrite.log. The small difference in append.log is likely Splunk not having indexed some entries yet.

My settings look like this:

[monitor://home/splunk/data/test/]
disabled = false
host = test
index = main
crcSalt = <SOURCE>
followTail = 1

(The actual log file I'm having trouble with contains a long header line, which is why I'm using crcSalt).

I noticed this in the change history for 4.1.4:

"monitor inputs using the followTail setting sometimes will index some older events or all events from log files which are updated when not intended. (SPL-23555) "

Are there any more details on what type of problems SPL-23555 fixed? I haven't seen any changes in behaviour after upgrading.