Getting Data In
Highlighted

After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Ultra Champion

For some reason, we are not able to delete expired jobs as admin and as a power user who owns the jobs.

We choose, Job and then Delete Job. A pop message appears and disappears for a brief moment and the job remains with us.

Any ideas?

alt text

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Ultra Champion

Let's see what Support would say...

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Contributor

What version are you running? Do you run a SH cluster?

We see the same issue in our SHclluster. It is releated with syncing betweens de SH's.
You're search is probably already deleted form te SH that was running it, but the Captain doesn't know that.
The "popup" is that it can't find the Job-ID.

We "Fix" it by selecting an other SH as master. Usually it will clean up after a while

Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Ultra Champion

Very interesting - have you filed any bug report on that, by any chance?

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Ultra Champion

Not sure about the relation here ; -)

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: After we deleted a job it popped back up -- How can we delete it for good?

Motivator

Transfer Captain to clean-up captain's old and outdated search artifact records by going to Settings-Search Head Cluster under Distributed Environment and choosing the new captain to transfer to.

0 Karma