Getting Data In

After installing the universal forwarder on 30+ Windows hosts, why am I only getting Windows event logs from 2 of them?

gph12
Explorer

Hello,

I'm new to Splunk and hope someone can point me in the right direction. I installed Splunk Enterprise on a Windows server and applied the license. I installed the Splunk Universal Forwarder on 2 Windows servers. I enabled port 9997 on the Splunk server and added the Windows Events logs and logs started coming in from the two hosts.

I then proceeded to install the UF client on about 30 Windows 7 workstations and 10 Windows 2008 R2 server. Only log info from those first two servers is showing up in Splunk.

When I go to Data Inputs | Windows Event Logs | Add New, there are no other hosts listed that I can add.

The servers are on the same subnet as the Splunk server so no firewall is blocking traffic. From the command line, I ran the netstat command and it shows me a half dozen computers with established connections on port 9997 to the Splunk server. So I don't know what I'm missing.

I did get a message:

splunk received event for unconfigured/disabled index='wineventlog' with source='source::WineventLog:Security' host='host::Desktop5'sourcetype='sourcetype::WineventLog::Security' (1 missing total)  

I created an index called wineventlog and it began growing, but I still only see logs from the original two hosts.

I've been reading the documentation but not the right parts. I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Greg

0 Karma

yannK
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee
  • check the "host" name of the servers in the $PSLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/inputs.conf, maybe do they have all the same name, and their events look like the same.

• or check if splunk has permissions to collect the WinEventLogs on them.

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust