Splunk Dev

Splunk High Availability

cvolcko
Engager

Hello

I am new to Splunk and have a couple demo versions set up for testing. We want to use splunk primarily to log for troubleshooting purposes in our VMware VSphere infrastructure environment

Today we log our ESXi and Nix infrastructure machines --> to a syslog collector UDP 514. This syslog collector sits behind a Netscaler which provides fail-over capability between one or the other if one is down for whatever reason.

As I understand it if we install the universal agent on machines that we can. The universal forwarder can handle the "heartbeating" and fail over to one splunk receiver or the other. If this is accurate, what do we do for machines we can not ,or is not logical to install the Splunk Universal Forwarder. We tend to not want to switch to syslog-ng TCP because of network concerns.

We are trying to get rid of the netscaler in our equation. But as I understand it Splunk does not recommend putting Splunk receivers behind load balancers. Also I think I am correct that in the Splunk world HA is more focused on High Availability of the Data that has been already received/collected.

Do you have any recommendations in our scenario.

Thanks,
-Christian

Navisite, Inc.
A Time Warner Company

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

jonuwz
Influencer

We have our servers spitting out UDP 514 to a load balancer to spread the load over a pair of splunk indexers.

The important thing to remember is that udp is one way.

Your load balancer will not be able to tell if there is something listening on UDP on the target devices.

If the box goes down, yes, a ping test will pick that up. But if the UDP listener goes down - nothing. The traffic will go down a black hole.

We worked around this by having the same process listening on UDP 514 and TCP 514.

That way the load balancer can at least check that the recieving process is up on the target boxes by polling TCP 514. You can still use UDP for the actual messages though.