Splunk Dev

How to install a python script to call the fireeye HX API and GET all HX json data into Splunk?

packet_hunter
Contributor

I need help installing a py script to call the fireeye HX API and GET all HX json data (more data than collected from the FireEye App and Add-on for Splunk Enterprise) into Splunk.

I got an awesome python script written by Ruairi O'Mahony for HX. When I use it in pycharm terminal (free edition), it returns the data I want. So now I want to test it in my standalone Dev instance of Splunk. However ultimately the script will reside on a HF (Heavy Forwarder) in a distributed production environment.

I am new to scripting in Splunk so I am not sure what the best way to go about this.

The script has options as to what data you wish to collect.

I run the command in the pycharm terminal with an option like this...

C:\Users\myname\PycharmProject\HX_API> C:\Python27\python.exe C:/Users/myname/PycharmProject/HX_API/RO_hx_api_script.py 1

as you can see there is a number one at the end which correlates to one of the following options

To use this script append one of the following options to the end of the command line: 

0 -  All options -  Run all options
1 -  HX version info -  v2/version
2 -  List all alerts -  v2/alerts?limit=200000
3 -  List source alerts from another appliance for all hosts -  v2/source_alerts?limit=200000
4 -  List of hosts -  v2/hosts?limit=200000
5 -  List of acqusitions -  v2/acqs/files?limit=200000
6 -  List of bulk acqusitions -  v2/acqs/bulk?limit=200000
7 -  List of Triages -  v2/acqs/triages?limit=200000
8 -  List all searches -  v2/searches?limit=200000
9 -  List all scripts -  v2/scripts?limit=200000
10 -  Download all scripts -  v2/scripts.zip
11 -  Indicator caregories -  v2/indicator_categories?limit=200000
12 -  Custom indicators -  v2/indicator_categories/custom?limit=200000
13 -  FireEye indicators -  v2/indicator_categories/fireeye?limit=200000