Splunk Dev

Custom Logfile extract fields help

tomeki

Hi,

i am very new to Splunk and a total greenhorn in regex. I have a log file with the following format

Jul 31 12:23:32 BALTHAZAR squid[7415]: 1375237412.537     93 10.110.40.144 TCP_MISS/200 1214 GET somewebsite ftropea FIRST_UP_PARENT/content1 application/x-javascript
Jul 30 23:59:13 BALTHAZAR squid[7415]: 1375192753.517      0 10.110.40.113 TCP_DENIED/407 3646 GET somewebsite - NONE/- text/html

it is a firewall/proxy access.log and when i import the data I choose access.log as type, then I need to customize since splunk gets just the Date/Time part correct and treats the whole rest as event.

I would like to extract the following fields:

Date = Jul 31 12:23:32 
Servername = BALTHAZAR 
IP = 10.110.40.144 
Code= TCP_MISS/200 
RequestType = GET 
Website = somewebsite includes the http://
User = ftropea 

I also have to note that the username is sometimes empty and sometimes filled out.
I used the inbuilt field extractor and could extract almost all of the fields above except the User.

What i got until now is something like

(?:[^ \n]* ){3}(?P<_Servername_>[^ ]+)[^\.\n]*\.\d+\s+\d+\s+(?P<_IP_>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<_Code_>[^ ]+)\s+\d+\s+(?P<_RequestType_>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<_Website_>[^ ]+)

and I think even that this is not correct... any idea what i could do?

Or do i have to write my own app/plugin and write a parser (php/c# or whatever) for this file?

Tags (5)
0 Karma

Gilberto_Castil
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

You do not need to program anything specific to get these fields out of your data. These look like SYSLOG style messages. It should be noted that Splunk recommends using the Common Information Model to standardize the naming convention for fields extracted from your data. You are not mandated to do this but it is a best practice recommendation.

In your case, the following will extract most fields appropriately. If necessary, just rename them.