Splunk Dev

App development - few beginner questions

didhavn
Engager

hello fellow splunker.

i am new to splunk and just starting to learn the basics about the app development.

i have a few questions and topics i would appreciate your help with and hope that somebody can help me.

• first, i am wondering if there is no other way to "deploy" the changes i made to the app-files than calling http://localhost:8000/de-DE/debug/refresh everytime i make changes. i tried to adjust cache settings in web.conf, e.g. cacheEntriesLimit and cacheBytesLimit, which didn't happen to work.
  • second, i couldn't get a custom app-icon to work. i placed the images $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/your_app_name/static/ as described here [http://dev.splunk.com/view/webframework-developapps/SP-CAAAE86], restarted splunk...unfortunately without success.
  • last, i am wondering how to automatically add a data-file (e.g. $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/your_app_name/local/data/thedata.txt) when the app is first started. i have a custom props.conf, indexes.conf and inputs.conf with [monitor://....] in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/your_app_name/local/data, props and indexes are included in the $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/your_app_name/metadata/local.meta but now i am struggeling to actually get the data, the inputs.conf, into splunk.

i appreciate every help or hint, where to find the solution.

thank you very much

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi there!

1. debug/refresh is a great way to reload specific items of Splunk. By appending &entity=admin/views or other similar entities, you can reload only a portion of Splunk, in this case views. I don't generally like to develop on a "non-cached" Splunk instance, it makes my page reloads too slow, a simple _bump or debug/refresh would do just find for most changes.