Deployment Architecture
Highlighted

Where do I deploy scripted inputs in a Splunk 6.2.4 environment with both indexer and search head clustering?

Path Finder

We've got a 3 indexer - 3 search head setup on 6.2.4 using indexer clustering, search head clustering, and a deployer to configure search heads.

I've got a scripted input that reaches out for data via 3rd party api and then returns that data to be indexed.

My question is where should this go? If I deploy it via deployer on the search heads, each search head indexes the data locally in it's main index. If I put it on the indexer it doesn't appear to run and doesn't put any data into an index.

Highlighted

Re: Where do I deploy scripted inputs in a Splunk 6.2.4 environment with both indexer and search head clustering?

Motivator

Hi @dturner83
I'm a tech writer here at Splunk and I'd like to help with your question. I'm looking into this with other writers and our engineering team. I'll post an update when I find out more!

Feel free to post further questions or details here in the meantime.

Best,
@frobinson_splunk

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Where do I deploy scripted inputs in a Splunk 6.2.4 environment with both indexer and search head clustering?

Motivator

Hi again, @dturner83,
Can you let me know if you are using a search head cluster? This will help us get you more specific advice.

Thanks!
@frobinson_splunk

0 Karma
Highlighted

Path Finder

Yes we do use search head clustering by utilizing the deployer and clustering

0 Karma
Highlighted

Motivator

Ok, thanks! I'll pass this along and report back with some advice ASAP!

0 Karma
Highlighted

Path Finder

frobinson - Thank you for your help and input. I have to say your response times on answers.splunk.com put our Enterprise support agreement support times to shame.

0 Karma
Highlighted

Legend