Deployment Architecture

What is easiest way for Installing forwarder for 1000+ hosts?

newSplunker
Explorer

I am new to Splunk and I am requested by my company to install and configure Splunk enterprise.

I read  a lot of documents and searched the answers website regarding installing the forwarder in the devices, I didn't find the answer to the below question:

What is easiest way for Installing forwarder for 1000+ host? these hosts include (Active directory, Linux Servers, windows Servers, Two different Firewalls, Laptops, Desktop PC...etc.)

Will I need Admin account for these devices? As we disabled the root admin and we have specific admin for each device.

Your help is appreciated.

Labels (2)
0 Karma

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I forgot to mention, you will need administrator or root privileges for installations. 

If this reply helps you an upvote and "Accept as Solution" is appreciated.

newSplunker
Explorer

That means I should request three different admin right:

One for creating and sending the scripts to Windows hosts.

Second for creating and sending the scripts to Linux hosts.

and the third one for syslog server.  

Am I correct?

0 Karma

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It really depends your infrastructure, unfortunately I can not know. 

I meant the admin/root password for running installation scripts on hosts. 

Sending scripts to hosts and installing syslog server are totally different processes. You should work with your system team.

newSplunker
Explorer

Thanks for your quick response scelikok

What about the authorities that I need to perform this task: 

"  Will I need Admin account for these devices? As we disabled the root admin and we have specific admin for each device."

0 Karma

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @newSplunker,