Deployment Architecture

Update The inputs.conf on an app

Abass42
Path Finder

Im a splunk admin and I got asked to update the inputs.conf file for the app pingfederate. Im a little unsure of how to do it and I figured id ask here instead of bricking our prod system. 

The request was : please modify inputs.conf for splunk agent to retrieve pingfederate log for the latest version.

source: 
[monitor://E:\pingfederate-11.2.3\pingfederate\log\]
index=pingid
sourcetype=pingidsrc
disabled=false
whitelist = audit.log$|server.log$|init.log$|transaction.log$|provisioner.log$

[monitor://E:\pingfederate-11.2.3-console\pingfederate\log\]
index=pingid
sourcetype=pingidsrc
disabled=false
whitelist = audit.log$|server.log$|init.log$|transaction.log$|provisioner.log$

Im good on that part. I found the inputs.conf on our Deployement server in 4 locations, two of which were backup locations. 

We have the app's inputs.conf file under 

1. /export/opt/splunk/etc/deployment-apps/pingfederate/default/inputs.conf

2. /export/opt/splunk/etc/deployment-apps/pingfederate/default/inputs.conf

3. /export/opt/splunk/etc/peer-apps-backup/pingfederate/default/inputs.conf

4. etc...

Here is where i get a bit confused. I remember reading through some docs about which folder is the main one that controls the apps, and one is just there kind of like a  backup. Im pretty sure Im supposed to change the file in local, and then push that, is that correct?  If so, what exactly is the default for? Is it some sort of failsafe in case the app acts up? 

I saw somewhere about manager-apps or master-apps, but since im using the deployment server, it should be under deployment-apps. But all of the apps that are under deployment apps do not all appear under manage apps in the web version of splunk deployment. All of the apps that appear on the splunk deployment webpage are located in the /export/opt/splunk/etc/apps. I dont quite understand the difference here, and which directory is there for what reason.