Deployment Architecture

Setting up a python virtual environment for developing Splunk applications

thorsten_osaka
Engager

I am new to Splunk and want to write my own MLTK classes/functions. I want to test my code locally in Anaconda or PyCharm. Therefor I would like to set up a virtual python environment that is identical to the one used in Splunk. Something like the output of a "pip freeze". Have searched the internet, but could not find a list python packages with versions needed to set up this environment. Any ideas where I can find that?

Tags (1)
0 Karma

DavidHourani
Super Champion

Hi @thorsten_osaka,

Seems like you're looking for the Splunk Python SDK. Have a look here for the environment and some tutorials :

http://dev.splunk.com/python

If it's specifically for MLTK please check here :
https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/MLApp/4.2.0/API/Overview

To add a custom algorithm to the Splunk Machine Learning Toolkit, you must write a python class and register it to the ML-SPL algorithm list. The algorithm class must implement certain methods which are outlined in the BaseAlgo class in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/Splunk_ML_Toolkit/bin/base.py.

These are the high level steps to import a new algorithm to the Splunk Machine Learning Toolkit:

1- Register the algorithm.
   2- Create a python script file (.py file) for the algorithm.
   3-  Write an algorithm class.

Cheers,
David

thorsten_osaka
Engager

Dear David,

thanks for the quick answer. This is exactly what I want to do. Implementing the BaseAlgo class.
My problem is: Where/How do I develop my code? My plan was to set up a virtual environment in Anaconda or PyCharm which is identical to the splunk environment (python 2.7, scikit 0.17, scipy ...) I just could not find a comprehensive list of dependencies. I also look into PyDen, but could not get it to work yet. Also, I wonder: What is best practice for developing and testing ML classes?

Cheers,
Thorsten

0 Karma

badarsebard
Communicator