pcsegal1
Explorer

Hi,

I have a legacy Splunk Enterprise cluster that consists of:

• 1 cluster master
  • 3 indexers, forming an indexer cluster
  • 1 search head
  • 1 license master

This cluster will stop receiving data. I need to downgrade it from cluster to standalone, and I need to preserve its existing data in such a way that it remains searchable.

That is, I need to downgrade this cluster to only one instance: a single standalone instance that contains the same data as the indexer cluster.

Is this possible? What steps should I perform?

Labels (3)
0 Karma

Bellthazor
Engager

@woodcock I am new to splunk and am not sure how to create the script referenced for converting `single-site buckets` to `unclustered buckets` and wanted to know if you could provide a reference/example for this.  Thanks in advance for any assistance!!

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

You will have to contact splunk support for that.

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

The easiest thing to do is to upgrade to smarstore and then just turn off 2 of your indexers. This is CAKE.
Alternatively. If you are NOT multi-site:

0: Create a script that can convert `single-site buckets` to `unclustered buckets` (this is pretty easy).
1: Set `RF=1/SF=1`; wait for things to settle.
2: Disable `Indexer Discovery` feature, reverting to traditional list of Indexers, but specifying all 3 Indexers.
3: `Remove Excess Buckets` from the CM; there is now only 1 copy of each bucket.
4: SEARCH OUTAGE IS ABOUT TO BEGIN: shutdown Search Heads
5: Shutdown the indexer that is to become the lone survivor (incoming data going to other indexers).
5a: Enlarge disk volumes if need be (probably).
5b: Run script to convert `single-site buckets` to `unclustered buckets`.
5c: Remove `Indexer Clustering` settings from this indexer.
5d: Restart Splunk; incoming data will now go to `unclustered buckets`.