Deployment Architecture

Is there a smart way of cleaning event data from an index on a regular basis in a multisite indexer clustering environment?

rakesh_498115
Motivator

Hi All,

I have 4 Indexer Servers, 2 per each Site. Site1 has 2 and Site2 has 2 servers in each. All these 4 servers are in clustering and I have a Master Node to monitor these 4 Indexer peers. Site based clustering is implemented so in any case if any site is down, I can still be able to get the data from the other site.

Now my problem here, I have an index called "my_index", and I need to clean this index on a regular basis without impacting the business.

So I have written a script to each one indexer by other and clean the eventdata of "my_index" and restarted them. By doing so, once the indexer is restarted again, it's getting "my_index" data back, since the replication factor is given as 4 and its getting the data again.

I cannot afford to stop all the 4 indexers at once and clean the eventdata as this will impact the customer till the indexers are up and running. Can you please suggest if there is any SMART WAY of cleaning the indexes on a regular basis without impacting customers?

Thanks,
Rakesh.

0 Karma

rmorlen_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

This is what I would do:

On Cluster Master:
splunk enable maintenance-mode

Then follow the steps below on each indexer to delete data from an index...

First come up with a search that finds only the data that you want removed. Run it to test that it works.

Then make sure the admin user (or the user that that are using to do the delete) has can_delete role (or add the role).

splunk edit user admin -role admin -role can_delete

Run the search to delete the data (I want to delete data from the main index for the sourcetype syslog for a specific timeframe):

splunk search 'index=main sourcetype=syslog | delete' -earliest_time '-26d@d' -latest_time '-3d@d'

Then do the next indexer.