Deployment Architecture

Is it possible to replicate the data between the cluster`s peers while the peers indexing their own data?

alecshnapir

We are trying benchmark our NAS storage system as a target for Splunk Enterprise solution. And i'm pretty new to the Splunk world, trying to understand how it all works 🙂

I've created 3 peers cluster (and one master) and used Splunkit to generate the log files on all 3 indexers/peers and to run indexing benchmark test. While setting the replication and search factors to 2 i've expected that there will replication between the peers and overall amount of data that will be written to the storage will be higher than in the case where both replication and search factors are set to 1.

Unfortunately, in both cases the amount of time it took to complete the task was and amount of data eventually written to the storage was exactly the same .... meaning that, probably, the were no replication between the peers during the indexing.

So, the question is it even possible? Meaning, can i make peers to replicate their own internal data during indexing or do i have to use external to peers data sources (forwarders) to make it all work?

0 Karma
1 Solution

lycollicott
Motivator

Indexer peers are supposed to replicate their own events independently of any action on your part.

Bucket folders that begin with db_ contain events indexed on that host while folders that begin with rb_ contain events replicated from another indexer. Theoretically the bytes written on each indexer could/would/should be nearly identical as the cluster balances how it spreads out the data.

If you have both db_ and rb_ folders then replication is working.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

lycollicott
Motivator

Indexer peers are supposed to replicate their own events independently of any action on your part.