Deployment Architecture

HomeLab Architecture Question

cjkoenig
Explorer

Hello,

I am a Splunk Enterprise Certified Admin who has an opportunity to advance to Splunk Architect with someone retiring. I am planning on taking the Splunk Architect courses but would like to set up a homelab to give myself practice and experience as well. 

In order to best prepare myself, I’d like to set up a virtual Home Lab with a Splunk distributed search environment, an indexer cluster, and a deployment server to deploy all the apps to the forwarders to. How many total Ubuntu Server VMs in Hyper-V should I spin up? I’m thinking 1 search head, at least 2 indexers (right?), the deployment server, a management node, possibly an HF for practice. So possibly a total of six VMs? Or is that too few….or too many? It depends how many Splunk roles each VM can play, which I’m not entirely certain on. It’s difficult to find this information online.

I’m not planning on ingesting much data, just a few data sources for practice. This is really more of a Proof of Concept and learning opportunity for me from an architecture perspective.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing back!

0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @cjkoenig ,

I'm a Splunk Architect and I created a Splunk HomeLab for myself.

I used six virtual machines:

• 2 Indexers (clustered).
  • 3 Search Heads (clustered),
  • 1 Management system

The Management System contains three Splunk instances working on different ports:

• Deployer + Monitoring Console,
  • Master Node + License Server,
  • Deployment Server.

They are all CentOS systems.

For logs generating I can use my client and all systems send their own logs to Indexers.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @cjkoenig ,

I'm a Splunk Architect and I created a Splunk HomeLab for myself.

I used six virtual machines:

• 2 Indexers (clustered).
  • 3 Search Heads (clustered),
  • 1 Management system