So I successfully created an app called search_migration on SH1 to move reports to SH2.
1) I set all reports on SH1 (in search app) that I wanted to move as shared globally
2) I created an app called searchmigration on SH1
3) I verified all reports were in searchmigration
4) I copied the directory for searchmigration app to a location where I could move it to SH2
5) I moved the searchmigration app to SH2
6) I verified all reports are now populated under the searchapp as well as the searchmigration app on SH2
Here is my question, how do I cleanup the move and get rid of the search_migration app on SH2?
If I delete the searchmigration app from SH2 then all the reports will disappear from the search app on SH2. Is there a way to change permissions on the reports so they will remain after I remove the searchmigration app???
I believe it has something to do with the metadata local files, but I am not sure if I should copy SH1 metadata to SH2....
Via the GUI you can use the "move" function to have the searches belong to a different app. Once you have "moved" all the searches this way, you can safely delete the migration_app without losing your searches.
You can get this "move" option by going to "settings > searches, reports, and alerts". I believe the Reports and/or Alerts dashboard from the default menu should also provide the "move" option.
Hope this helps
Thanks, you are correct it does work. Do you know if there is a bulk move?