Deployment Architecture

Diagnosing latency between indextime and searchability

elliotproebstel
Champion

Our enterprise has two data centers, and each data center has a Splunk indexing cluster. Data is replicated between the clusters. There are search heads at each data center, each with a search affinity for their local indexers. I am an admin only of two search heads, supporting a particular division within the enterprise. We have had a lot of personnel turnover recently, so I am trying to help support the operations team.

Several months ago, we had only one indexing cluster at one site, and I was managing just a single search head. On this search head, we have a number of saved searches that run every five minutes to look for particular events. These searches were crafted to look at events indexed within the last five minutes (so something like earliest=-3mon latest=now _index_earliest=-5m _index_latest=now ...). The matching events from these searches are fed into a summary index that is monitored by a bot that pulls new events and feeds them into a ticketing system. I periodically checked in on the searches and double-checked that they were catching all events, so I can say with confidence that things were working as desired.

Now that we have the two indexing clusters, I have all of the saved searches running on a search head at data_center2, and I discovered that the searches were missing a very high percentage of events. I am trying to figure out why this is happening and how to best reduce the time between Primary Event -> Splunk Indexing -> Splunk Scheduled Search -> Summary Indexing -> Bot Search.