Deployment Architecture

Designing a Splunk Refresh for very non-standard environment

aubine
Explorer

Hello all,

I've been using Splunk for the past four years and am loving it. I would like to know from the Splunk Community what you all think of the following configuration setups.

I am currently running a single instance Splunk server with 16 cores, 64 GB of RAM and 7.2k HDD's. I'm monitoring about 50-100 servers (90%+ are different flavors of Linux) which have very low indexing. All servers together amount for about 150-200MB/day. But I also have about 75 users which need access to the dashboards. I inherited the server about four years ago and it was intially deisgned as of a PoC and it eventually got shipped into Production (with no changes). The server is old and is needs to be evergreened. My question is this: If you could design a new system, what would you go with? I have the possibility of using VM's to create a more distributed environment instead of a single instance, but is it worth it? My idea was to throw AMD's new 64 core EPYC chips with similar 64GB of RAM, have a 500GB SATA SSD and 4TB of 7.2k drives for historical searches. I'm curious to see what the Splunk Trust & Community has to say, because I was talking with several people at .conf19 and most of them had not seen this kind of environment before (low amounts of data and high numbers of users). Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Erick

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @aubine,

redesigning you architecture, in my opinion, you should make some checks on your existing infrastructure and then design your new architecture defining the requisites (see below).

Analyzing your actual infrastructure, you could know (using Monitoring Console) how many searches you have in a day and in the peaks.

Using these informations you can define how many CPU's you need.