Dashboards & Visualizations

Why am I not seeing any colors in my choropleth map?

aartivig289
Engager

Hi,

I am pretty new to Splunk and need some help with the Choropleth maps.
I have a requirement to present the transaction charge volume per country as a choropleth map in my Splunk dashboard.
I am using a csv lookup to read the values from a csv.
The fields are:
1. "market" with values - USA, Australia, UK, Germany, Spain and France
2. "Charge Volume" - for multiple clients per market

When I search using the following, I am getting the desired search result:

| inputlookup ChargeVolume.csv | chart sum(Charge Volume (USD)) as "Charge Volume" by Market| Rename "Market" as "Country"| geom geo_countries featureIdField="Country"

Result:
alt text

But in visualization, I do not get any colors on the map.
I have set the format as "Categorical".
I need help with following:

1. I am not getting any colors on the map for the 6 countries I mentioned above.
  2. In the legend I need the country name with charge volume against each color.

alt text

0 Karma
1 Solution

vasanthmss
Motivator

Country name should be camel case , check the below sample,

|makeresults | eval Country=split("India,France,Spain,Germany",",") | mvexpand Country  | streamstats count   | geom geo_countries  featureIdField="Country"

Check your results are giving any geom field with values or empty, looks like you are not getting any geom values. Try to change the values and check.

Expected : Spain
Apart from any values SPAIN / spain ,, seems not working.

V

View solution in original post

vasanthmss
Motivator

Country name should be camel case , check the below sample,

|makeresults | eval Country=split("India,France,Spain,Germany",",") | mvexpand Country  | streamstats count   | geom geo_countries  featureIdField="Country"

Check your results are giving any geom field with values or empty, looks like you are not getting any geom values. Try to change the values and check.

Expected : Spain