Dashboards & Visualizations

Single Value Panel on absolute metric resets to 0

sadohert

Apologies in advance if I'm mixing some terminology. I'm relatively new to Splunk.

I'm building a Splunk app to monitor our product, Mattermost. We expose Prometheus style metrics and I'm using this Prometheus data input type by @luke.monahan@rivium.com.au to get the metrics in (thanks Luke!).

We have a metric mattermost_db_master_connections_total that is displayed in a Single Value chart at the top of a dashboard, as well as in amongst some time series charts below. The time series chart seems to match with what I see in our equivalent Grafana dashboard, but the Single Value stat seems to bounce between 0 and the value I would expect, depending on the timing of when I refresh the dashboard.

Is there something I should be doing in my query to smooth out those drops to 0 on the single value panel? What is happening here? Missing values I don't see on the time series?

Single Value Query:

| mstats max(_value) prestats=true WHERE metric_name="mattermost_db_master_connections_total" AND sourcetype=prometheus:metric span=15s
| timechart max(_value) span=15s

Time Series Query:
| mstats max(_value) prestats=true WHERE metric_name="mattermost_db_master_connections_total" AND sourcetype=prometheus:metric span=15s BY host
| timechart max(_value) span=15s agg=max useother=false BY host
| addtotals

Screenshots:
Single Value (after refreshing... and seemingly majority of the time it looks like this... every few refreshes I'll get 3 as expected):
alt text

Time Series Plot:
alt text

0 Karma
1 Solution

to4kawa
Ultra Champion

smooth out those drops to 0
If there is no data at 15 second intervals, 0 is displayed.
What should it do?
Why don't you try to expand time span?

View solution in original post

0 Karma

to4kawa
Ultra Champion

smooth out those drops to 0
If there is no data at 15 second intervals, 0 is displayed.
What should it do?
Why don't you try to expand time span?